Scanning a Motorcycle

I recently picked up a Sensor with the intent of using it for my business. I build custom motorcycles and have a background in Industrial Design, so I often will design new parts in CAD before either making them by hand or having them prototyped.

Having a scanner that could give me accurate dimensions would save a TON of time, so this thread will be about figuring out if that level of accuracy and detail is possible with the Structure Sensor.

I’ll be starting off using the Structure Sensor and Skanect Pro on my Surface Pro 3 with i7-4650U 1.70/2.30 GHz. It’s not an ideal machine for this I’ve found out so I have to really take my time when I scan.

I’ve only scanned a handful of things so far so I’m still learning. Here’s the first bike scan I did.

Specs:
Bike surface as-is (no scan powder, but a little dirty)
Scan feedback: Med
Scan time: 20min
Reconstructed at V. High

My goal is to use this scan to plan out a custom exhaust so I concentrated on the lower right side of the bike.

I haven’t yet pulled it into Rhino so I’m not sure how accurate it is. I tried scanning a set of triple clamps earlier (the clamps that hold the front forks on the bike) and the accuracy was pretty poor. The 55 mm ID clamp holes came out pretty ovaled and wonky.

My stage 2 and stage 3 will be covering the bike in alcohol/baby powder and then trying out the 4 eyes case with magnifier lenses from Thor Labs. I’m hoping that will add some detail. In it’s current state it’s not really usable as a foundation to design parts from. At best it’s good for designing things like fairings and exhausts, aka parts that are kind of floating around the bike.

Ideally I’d be able to use the scans to pull mounting hole dimensions and redesign parts like footpegs or engine covers.