Suggestion for automatic turntable and light box setup for Structure Sensor?

Hello,

I want to ask what would your recommendation be for an automatic turntable and light box setup for Structure Sensor? I am a newbie and plan to scan objects for VR game I am building in Unity 3D.

Scanning an object by rotating it

Hey skinniwini,

Though the specifics really depends on which app you are using to make the scan, I can make serval general suggestions for scanning while using a turntable.

First off, the only app that can be used with a turntable currently is with the Skanect app with the Track Loss Detection setting off. The other apps available through the Apple app store are best used while keeping the object stationary and rotating the sensor around the object.

Secondly, a light box would probably not be the best thing to use when scanning an object. If you are scanning with a turntable, you have to make sure there are no background non-moving objects within the bounding box. Either decrease the size of the bounding box or move to a larger space where you can avoid the background.

The turntable method works best for smaller objects that can fit within the dimensions of the turntable itself. If you are planning on using a motorized turntable, make sure you are able to adjust the speed at which it rotates as different objects are able to be scanned at different rates. You may also have to stop and reverse the rotation of the turntable if it is moving too fast for the Skanect app which may prompt you to move the object back to the last pose.

For detailed objects, you may need to move the sensor close to the nooks and crannies of the object to fill any holes missed after the turntable has rotated 360 degrees, such as the top of the object.