Why do I have to use an uplink to scan with Skanect?

I bought the Structure Sensor and Skanect a year ago and am just getting around to using it. I am eternally frustrated that I cannot 3D scan with my ipad only! I do not understand this. Why do I have to uplink to a laptop via wifi to do this. It is exactly opposite of the reason to have a “portable” scanning devise. I am an architect and am often on sites where there is no wifi. So far, in all my scanning tests, the uplink is very slow and after a very short time of scanning on even medium it freezes.

I am hoping that you all will tell me I am an idiot because of course there IS a way to scan directly to the ipad without linking to the laptop, and then I can upload to laptop later when I am by wifi.

Any help out there?

thanks,
Ben

Hello Ben,

There are a number of other 3D scanning apps you can use with Structure Sensor that don’t use the Uplink feature. For starters, try:

Thanks!

Thanks Adam, I am aware of a number of other apps, but Skanect is the one I paid a lot for and requiring an uplink via wifi to laptop makes it useless. Represents a poor understanding of the end user and their needs in my opinion. No reason it can’t work both way.

Ben

We do apologize for the confusion and really try to be very clear on how the Skanect software is used.

We would greatly appreciate if you could point us to where we have marketed Skanect that gave you the impression it could be used only with an iPad. This will help us direct our message more clearly.

Thanks so much!

As for using Skanect, could you let me know the specifications of your computer? Could you also let me know which settings you are using during a scan?